Morgan Tsvangirai

On 11 February 2009, Morgan Richard Tsvangirai became the second Prime Minister of Zimbabwe since Independence. Robert Mugabe was Zimbabwe’s first Prime Minister, a position abolished in 1987 to make room for an executive presidency and unicameral parliament.

Although Tsvangirai won the disputed first round of the 29 March Presidential election with 47.9% of the vote, he boycotted the mandated run-off after widespread violence against MDC supporters.

Urgent negotiations finally culminated in the Zimbabwean parliament unanimously passing  Constitutional Amendment 19 creating a transitional government and power-sharing arrangement between Robert Mugabe as President and Morgan Tsvangirai as Prime Minister. Prime Minister Tsvangirai continues to serve as the President of the majority party in parliament, the Movement for Democratic Change (MDC). Central to the vision of the MDC is (1) democratization, including a new people-driven constitution leading to free and fair elections and restoration of basic human rights and political and media freedoms, (2) humanitarian assistance to address the cholera crisis and chronic food shortages in particular, and (3)  economic stabilisation, ending corruption, abuse of state power and state institutions.